Democrats Take House — Updated

As the State of Sunshine — and so many other pundits — predicted, the Democrats have taken control of the United States House of Representatives. This brings up three words that will make conservatives shudder: Speaker Nancy Pelosi.

Before the election, the State of Sunshine posted a chart showing 79 key races. Below is a summary of those races. The results used were from the MSNBC website. This post will be updated as the other races are called.

State Dist Rep Dem
Ariz. 1 Rep. Rick Renzi (i) Ellen Simon HELD
Ariz. 5 Rep. J.D. Hayworth (i) Harry Mitchell FLIPPED
Ariz. 8 Randy Graf Gabrielle Giffords FLIPPED
Cal. 4 Rep. John Doolittle (i) Charlie Brown HELD
Cal. 11 Rep. Richard Pombo (i) Jerry McNerney FLIPPED
Cal. 50 Rep. Brian Bilbray (i) Francine Busby HELD
Colo. 4 Marilyn Musgrave (i) Angie Paccione HELD
Colo. 5 Doug Lamborn Jay Fawcett HELD
Colo. 6 Rep. Tom Tancredo (i) Bill Winter HELD
Colo. 7 Rick O’Donnell Ed Perlmutter FLIPPED
Conn. 2 Rep. Rob Simmons (i) Joe Courtney RECOUNT
Conn. 4 Rep. Chris Shays (i) Diane Farrell HELD
Conn. 5 Rep. Nancy L. Johnson (i) Chris Murphy FLIPPED
Fla. 8 Rep. Rick Keller (i) Charlie Stuart HELD
Fla. 9 Gus Bilirakis Phyllis Busansky HELD
Fla. 13 Vern Buchanan Christine Jennings RECOUNT
Fla. 16 Joe Negron Tim Mahoney FLIPPED
Fla. 22 Rep. E. Clay Shaw Jr. (i) Ron Klein FLIPPED
Ga. 8 Mac Collins Rep. Jim Marshall (i) HELD
Ga. 12 Max Burns Rep. John Barrow (i) Leaning Dem
Id. 1 Bill Sali Larry Grant HELD
Iowa 1 Mike Whalen Bruce Braley FLIPPED
Iowa 2 Rep. Jim Leach (i) Dave Loebsack FLIPPED
Iowa 3 Jeff Lamberti Rep. Leonard Boswell (i) HELD
Ill. 6 Peter Roskam Tammy Duckworth HELD
Ill. 8 Dave McSweeney Rep. Melissa Bean (i) HELD
Ind. 2 Rep. Chris Chocola (i) Joe Donnelly FLIPPED
Ind. 3 Rep. Mark Souder (i) Tom Hayhurst HELD
Ind. 7 Eric Dickerson Rep. Julia Carson (i) HELD
Ind. 8 Rep. John Hostettler (i) Brad Ellsworth FLIPPED
Ind. 9 Rep. Mike Sodrel (i) Baron Hill FLIPPED
Kan. 2 Rep. Jim Ryun (i) Nancy Boyda FLIPPED
Ky. 2 Rep. Ron Lewis (i) Mike Weaver HELD
Ky. 3 Rep. Anne Northup (i) John Yarmuth FLIPPED
Ky. 4 Rep. Geoff Davis (i) Ken Lucas HELD
Lou. 3 Craig Romero Rep. Charlie Melancon (i) HELD
Mich. 7 Tim Walberg Sharon Renier HELD
Minn. 1 Rep. Gil Gutknecht (i) Tim Walz FLIPPED
Minn. 2 Rep. John Kline (i) Coleen Rowley HELD
Minn. 6 Michele Bachmann Patty Wetterling HELD
Neb. 3 Adrian Smith Scott Kleeb HELD
Nev. 2 Dean Heller Jill Derby HELD
Nev. 3 Rep. Jon Porter (i) Tessa Hafen HELD
N.C. 8 Rep. Robin Hayes (i) Larry Kissell HELD
N.C. 11 Rep. Charles H. Taylor (i) Heath Shuler FLIPPED
N.H. 1 Rep. Jeb Bradley (i) Carol Porter-Shea FLIPPED
N.H. 2 Rep. Charles Bas (i) Paul Hodes FLIPPED
N.J. 7 Rep. Mike Ferguson (i) Linda Stender HELD
N.M. 1 Rep. Heather Wilson (i) Patricia Madrid RECOUNT
N.Y. 3 Rep. Peter King (i) Dave Mejias HELD
N.Y. 19 Rep. Sue Kelly (i) John Hall FLIPPED
N.Y. 20 Rep. John Sweeney (i) Kirsten Gillibrand FLIPPED
N.Y. 24 Ray Meier Michael Arcuri FLIPPED
N.Y. 25 Rep. Jim Walsh (i) Dan Maffei HELD
N.Y. 26 Rep. Thomas Reynolds (i) Jack Davis HELD
N.Y. 29 Rep. Randy Kuhl (i) Eric Massa HELD
Ohio 1 Rep. Steve Chabot (i) John Cranley HELD
Ohio 2 Rep. Jean Schmidt (i) Victoria Wulsin HELD
Ohio 6 Chuck Blasdel Charlie Wilson HELD
Ohio 12 Rep. Pat Tiberi (i) Bob Shamansky HELD
Ohio 15 Rep. Deborah Pryce (i) Mary Jo Kilroy HELD
Ohio 18 Joy Padgett Zack Space FLIPPED
Penn. 4 Rep. Melissa Hart (i) Jason Altmire FLIPPED
Penn. 6 Rep. Jim Gerlach (i) Lois Murphy HELD
Penn. 7 Rep. Curt Weldon (i) Joe Sestak FLIPPED
Penn. 8 Rep. Michael G. Fitzpatrick (i) Patrick Murphy FLIPPED
Penn. 10 Rep. Don Sherwood (i) Chris Carney FLIPPED
Texas 17 Van Taylor Rep. Chet Edwards (i) HELD
Texas 22 Shelley Sekula-Gibbs Nick Lampson FLIPPED
Texas 23 Rep. Henry Bonilla (i) Ciro Rodriguez HELD
Vt AL Martha Rainville Peter Welch HELD
Va. 2 Rep. Thelma D. Drake (i) Phil Kellam HELD
Va. 10 Rep. Frank Wolf (i) Judy Feder HELD
Wash. 5 Rep. Cathy McMorris (i) Peter Goldmark HELD
Wash. 8 Rep. Dave Reichert (i) Darcy Burner Leanding GOP
Wisc. 8 John Gard Steve Kagen FLIPPED
WV 1 Chris Wakim Rep. Alan Mollohan (i) HELD
WV 2 Rep. Shelley Moore Capito (i) Mike Callaghan HELD
Wy. AL Rep. Barbara Cubin (i) Gary Trauner RECOUNT

About Jim Johnson

Editor and publisher of The State of Sunshine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.